Local Attorneys. Trusted Experience.

Act Promptly To Protect Your Record After A DUI Arrest

If you have just been in an accident and have recently consumed any alcohol or drugs at all, call an experienced DUI defense attorney immediately.

Regardless of the circumstances, there is no time to waste if you have been arrested – or may be arrested – on suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI). Call Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C. at 757-742-4179 to request immediate legal counsel in the Southampton, Emporia, Brunswick and Suffolk areas.

Beware Additional Legal Hazards Of A DUI Case

You likely know that “drunk driving is illegal” in Virginia and elsewhere. But did you know that there are other alleged offenses that often go along with DUI charges? Examples include the following:

  • Driving with an open container in the car
  • Driving with a child in the car (Potential charge of felony child neglect)
  • Refusing to take a breath test
  • Driving when your driver’s license has been suspended because of a previous DUI
  • Being charged with a second or third DUI
  • Failing to fulfill terms of a deferred or probated previous DUI arrest, such as using an interlock device or undergoing alcohol abuse treatment

Even someone not in the car may be charged or sued with a civil claim in a DUI case for the following reasons:

  • Providing alcohol to a minor
  • Serving alcohol to a bar or restaurant customer who was obviously intoxicated

In Case Of A DUI Conviction

If you refused a breath or blood test at the time of a traffic stop or if you were arrested for alleged DUI, your driver’s license was likely confiscated. You have five days to schedule an administrative hearing to try to recover it while your criminal case is pending.

Then, if your criminal case results in a conviction, you may be facing one or more of these penalty scenarios:

  • For a first-time DUI with blood alcohol content (BAC) of at least 0.08: fines of $250-$2500, up to twelve months in jail and a one-year driver’s license suspension (and a minimum of five days in jail with a BAC of at least .15)
  • For a second or third DUI: fines of $500-$2500, a jail sentence of 10 days to 12 months, and a three-year driver’s license suspension

Get Trustworthy Legal Advice As Soon As Possible

The scenarios and penalties described may not include all relevant facts in your DUI and/or traffic violation case.

Protect your future. Contact an experienced Virginia DUI defense attorney right away. Call 757-742-4179 or complete an online form to schedule a free initial consultation now.