Virginia is known for its strict traffic laws, including DUI laws. We applaud the state for committing to road safety, yet accidents and injuries still occur. Losing a loved one to a drunk driving accident is a life senselessly lost. Getting injured due to a drunk driver is also senseless. Here to help you make some sense of the legal system, ensure you get justice, and compensation for your injuries or wrongful death due to a drunk driver, our Courtland, Suffolk, Emporia, and Lawrenceville drunk driver accident attorneys at Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C. are here for you. Let us stress about the legal matter while your focus on recovery. Your life is precious, and we are here to start making it a little easier.
Despite Virginia police cracking down on DUIs, accidents still occur. Over the past 30 years, drunk driving accidents have decreased by 37%. The decrease deserves some praise as it shows that strict laws conserve lives and create safe spaces for drivers. However, recent reports show that 34% of yearly accidents are due to intoxicated drivers. It’s good that overall numbers have decreased, but recent studies show that Virginia drivers have a 1 out of 7 chance of getting into an accident with an intoxicated driver.
Like most statistics, some years are better than others. In 2018, DUI convictions increased, but so did the average amount of accidents caused by an intoxicated driver. Most men drive drunk, and the average age of those driving drunk is between 21 and 40. It’s not surprising to read that the age group most likely to drink and drive is the age group that typically goes out to party. However, that is no excuse. Driving under any influence is dangerous and endangers others who are choosing to drive sober.
In response to the increasing fluctuation of drunk driving and accidents, Virginia is implementing stricter laws to help inhibit this behavior. HB1941 states that anyone caught drinking and driving will be charged with a class 4 felony instead of a class 6 felony. A class 4 felony means punishment of no less than 2 years and no more than 10 years in prison, and a fine of no more than $100k. Hopefully, this harsher punishment will dissuade people from committing this kind of crime. Still, until then, our Virginia drunk driver accident attorneys are here to protect you when you need a strong advocate by your side. A person can be sued for personal injury and face criminal charges at the same time.
Taking time to heal from an injury means time is taken away from making money and spending time the way you want to spend time. With us by your side, we will ensure that you get the justice and compensation you deserve to heal from this tragic situation. You can contact us for a free consultation of your case by clicking here or by calling 757-517-8956.