Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C. – Attorneys at Law

Understanding How To Obtain A Virginia Hardship License After A DUI

Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C.

There are various reasons why a person may lose their privilege to drive in Virginia. A suspended driver’s license can have a detrimental impact on a person who needs to get to work, get their kids to school, or get from the grocery store and back. However, if a person does lose their license due to a DUI conviction, they can generally receive a restricted license, commonly referred to as a hardship license. At Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C., our DUI attorneys have experience helping people in these situations. We have a thorough understanding of what it takes to help clients get their restricted licenses so they can take care of their daily activities.

Who is eligible for a restricted license in Virginia?

First, it is important to understand that not all DUI convictions will allow a person to receive a restricted driver’s license. In Virginia, a person will be eligible to receive a restricted driver’s license at the time of conviction of a first-offense DUI charge. They will also be eligible for this type of license if they are convicted of illegal possession of alcohol or illegal consumption of alcohol.

A person convicted of their second DUI in a five-year period will be eligible for a restricted license after one year of the suspension. If a person has been convicted of a second-offense DUI within a 10-year period, they will be eligible for a restricted license after four months from their conviction.

However, a person convicted of third-offense DUI will not be eligible for a restricted license until their driving privileges have been suspended for a three-year period. This will also be the case if a person has had three DUI convictions within a 10-year period.

What is the process to receive a restricted license in Virginia?

In general, a person who wants to receive a restricted license needs to ask the court that has suspended or revoked their driver’s license. In most scenarios, drivers will do this right after a judge has suspended or revoked their privilege to drive.

Most clerk’s offices require that a person provide proof to the court that they actually need a restricted license. Restricted license permissible uses can be found at the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles website. After a person fills out the forms necessary, the clerk’s office will generally have a judge review and approve or deny the application. If approved, the person will then be issued a paper version of the restricted license. If a license suspension is set to be longer than 30 days, a person will need to go to the DMV to have a hard plastic copy of their restricted license issued.

Let our DUI lawyers help with your case

If you or somebody you love has been convicted of DUI and needs help getting a restricted license, you can reach out to us for help today. At Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C., let our knowledgeable and experienced team take the steps necessary to ensure that you get back behind the wheel and taking care of your daily activities. You can contact us for a free consultation of your case by clicking here or by calling one of our location phone numbers listed below.

What Our Clients are Saying
Janice Smith