Request Information
Request Information

Not sure if you have a legal case?  Our Attorneys and Paralegals are here to review and assess your case for legal representation.  You’ll get the information you need to make a determination on pursuing your legal rights with your friendly and local legal counsel.

Trusted, Creative, Responsive
Assault and Battery 18.2-57
 Cover
What happens if you get an Assault and Battery charge in Virginia?

§ 18.2-57. Assault and battery; penalty.

    1. Any person who commits a simple assault or assault and battery is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor, and if the person intentionally selects the person against whom a simple assault is committed because of his race, religious conviction, color or national origin, the penalty upon conviction shall include a term of confinement of at least six months, 30 days of which shall be a mandatory minimum term of confinement.

    2. However, if a person intentionally selects the person against whom an assault and battery resulting in bodily injury is committed because of his race, religious conviction, color or national origin, the person is guilty of a Class 6 felony, and the penalty upon conviction shall include a term of confinement of at least six months, 30 days of which shall be a mandatory minimum term of confinement.

Consequences

Class 1 Misdemeanor - a jail term of not less than 12 months and/or a fine of up to $2,500

Under this code section an assault can be verbal and requiring no contact. Physical assaults can be either by using a weapon, spitting on someone or physically assaulting the other person.

The cases can sometimes be reduced to disorderly conduct.

Source: LIS Virginia Law

Back to Criminal Litigation Services  

Legal Team
Assault and Battery 18.2-57 Legal Team
No Win, No Fee

WE DON'T GET PAID UNLESS YOU WIN YOUR PERSONAL INJURY CASE

GET YOUR CASE EVALUATION

Home » Services » Criminal Law » Assault and Battery 18.2-57
Share