Request Information
Request Information

Not sure if you have a legal case?  Our Attorneys and Paralegals are here to review and assess your case for legal representation.  You’ll get the information you need to make a determination on pursuing your legal rights with your friendly and local legal counsel.

Trusted, Creative, Responsive
Concealed Weapon 18.2-308
 Cover
Illegally Carrying a Concealed Weapon in Virginia

§ 18.2-308. Carrying concealed weapons; exceptions; penalty. 

You can not possess a firearm, switchblade knife or weapon in such a manner that it is not visible. You can not conceal it on your person (inside or a jacket or waistband, etc.), or in a vehicle where it can not be seen in plain view unless it is locked in a center console, glove box or trunk; separate from the ammunition.

Consequences

First Offense- Class 1 Misdemeanor- Confinement in jail for up to 12 months, or a fine up to $2,500.00 or both penalties. A second violation of this section or a conviction under this section subsequent to any conviction under any substantially similar ordinance of any county, city, or town shall be punishable as a Class 6 felony (Imprisonment for 1 to 5 years; or, at the discretion of the jury or court, either confinement in jail for up to 12 months or a fine not more that $2,500.00, or both penalties), and a third or subsequent such violation shall be punishable as a Class 5 felony (Imprisonment for 1 to 10 years; or, at the discretion of the jury or court, either confinement in jail for up to 12 months or a fine not more that $2,500.00, or both penalties.)

If you want to have a concealed weapon, you will need a permit.  You may apply for a concealed weapon permit in the Circuit Court where you live.

Source: LIS Virginia Law

Back to Criminal Litigation Services   

Legal Team
Concealed Weapon 18.2-308 Legal Team
Do You Need a Lawyer NOW?

We will fight for you to get the best results.

Click Here to Let Us Help You

Home » Services » Criminal Law » Concealed Weapon 18.2-308
Share