Request Information
Request Information

Not sure if you have a legal case?  Our Attorneys and Paralegals are here to review and assess your case for legal representation.  You’ll get the information you need to make a determination on pursuing your legal rights with your friendly and local legal counsel.

Trusted, Creative, Responsive
Malicious Wounding 18.2-51
 Cover
What Happens when you get a Malicious Wounding Charge in Virginia

§ 18.2-51. Shooting, stabbing, etc., with intent to maim, kill, etc.

If any person maliciously shoots, stabs, cuts, or wounds any person or by any means causes him/her bodily injury, with the intent to maim, disfigure, disable, or kill, he/she shall, except where it is otherwise provided, be guilty of a Class 3 Felony.  If such act be done unlawfully but not maliciously, with the intent aforesaid, the offender shall be guilty of a Class 6 Felony.

Consequences

Class 3 Felony - a term of imprisonment for not less than five years nor more than 20 years and a possible fine of up to $100,000.00.

We could get your charge reduced if the facts support it to an unlawful wounding, which is a Class 6 Felony - resulting in a term of imprisonment not less than one year nor more than 10 years, with a possible $2,500 fine.

In some cases we can even get the charge reduced to a misdemeanor. In any event all jail time could be suspended depending on the facts and your record.

Click here to learn about the differences between criminal offenses and classifications.

Source: LIS Virginia Law

Back to Criminal Litigation Services  

Legal Team
Malicious Wounding 18.2-51 Legal Team
Do You Need a Lawyer NOW?

We will fight for you to get the best results.

Click Here to Let Us Help You

Home » Services » Criminal Law » Malicious Wounding 18.2-51
Share