Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C. – Attorneys at Law

Brunswick County, Virginia DUI Attorney

Brunswick County, Virginia, sits right on the border between the Commonwealth and North Carolina. Law enforcement officials in this area are known for continually looking out for drivers operating while impaired by alcohol and drugs. At Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C., our dedicated team is standing by to help if you need a Brunswick County, VA, DUI attorney. We know what it takes to stand up to aggressive prosecutors and law enforcement officials in an effort to get these charges reduced or even dismissed. Let us get to work on your behalf immediately.

Why is a Brunswick County, VA, DUI attorney necessary?

When many people are charged with DUI, they automatically assumed that they will receive the harshest penalties possible. That is not necessarily the case. In fact, that is rarely the case. If a person is charged with DUI in Brunswick County, Virginia, an attorney can work on their behalf to get the charges reduced or even dismissed.

A DUI lawyer in Brunswick County can:

  • Conduct an independent investigation into the situation to gather evidence that could help with your defense
  • Handle all communication and negotiation with other parties involved, including any possible plea deals to get the charges reduced
  • Represent you at every single court hearing so that you do not have to handle this by yourself

First offense DUI penalties in Brunswick County, VA

First-time DUI offenders need to be aware that there are statutory penalties assigned to these convictions. A worst-case scenario for a first-time offender could result in the following:

  • Up to 12 months in jail (first-time offenders rarely serve time)
  • Fine ranging from $250 to $2,500
  • Suspended license for one year
  • Ignition interlock device (IID) for a minimum of six months
  • If the BAC is .15 to .20: 5 days mandatory minimum jail
  • If the BAC is above .20: 10 days mandatory minimum jail

In Virginia, a person will be legally considered to be driving under the influence if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08% or higher. However, a person can still be charged with driving under the influence if their BAC is lower than this limit. Anytime a person consumes a substance that impairs their ability to operate a vehicle, law enforcement officials can charge them with DUI.

Any person who operates a vehicle on Virginia roadways with a valid driver’s license is required to submit to blood alcohol or breath testing upon an arrest for DUI. If a person refuses a breath or blood test, their license will be suspended for one year, regardless of whether or not they are eventually convicted of DUI.

Call our Brunswick County, Virginia DUI attorney today

If you or somebody you love has been arrested and charged with driving under the influence in Brunswick County, VA, reach out to the team at Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C. as soon as possible. We have extensive experience handling complex criminal traffic violations throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia, and we know what it takes to help our clients get these charges reduced or dismissed. We will stand up to aggressive prosecutors and law enforcement officials on your behalf. When you need a Brunswick County, Virginia, DUI attorney, you can contact us for a free consultation of your case by clicking here or by calling 757-517-8956.

Review
X
What Our Clients are Saying
Chris Barham