A domestic assault allegation can be detrimental to your reputation, career, and criminal record. You can face harsh penalties like fines and even jail time. You may be unable to get a job or housing due to your criminal record. Do not let these allegations grow legs and ruin your life. Enlist the help of a Chesapeake, Virginia domestic assault attorney from Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C. to help you fight these charges.
Domestic assault in Virginia is classified as a class 1 misdemeanor. Allegations of domestic assault stemming from one person intentionally harming or attempting to harm another person. The main thing to remember is that domestic assault involves family or household members. The definition is broad, and this leaves room for false allegations and misunderstandings. Do not let this circumstance change the course of your life.
To successfully contest a domestic assault claim, you will need to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the allegation or claim is untrue. This can be difficult to do without the help of a Chesapeake, Virginia, domestic assault attorney.
We will review the details of the allegations against you and will be able to advise you on the next steps. We will work to build a strong case and find an individualized solution for your case. Although domestic assault cases are similar, no two cases are the same. Meeting with your attorney can be intense since we are not afraid to ask hard questions. We do so to get a complete picture of who you are and what happened. We will also gather evidence that supports your claim and execute a winning strategy.
It is important to note that domestic assault is defined by the relationship between the two parties in Virginia. This can include the alleged perpetrator’s family, extended family, current and former roommates. This covers a lot of ground, and the consequences can be life-altering.
During a domestic assault case in Virginia, a magistrate or judge will hear both sides of the case. They will then decide on the domestic assault charge. For a first-time conviction, a person can be sentenced to 12 months in jail and be fined $2,500. You will also lose the right to own a firearm. If instead, you are cleared of all allegations, you will be free to continue with your life.
If a person has been convicted of domestic assault three times in 20 years, jail time is inevitable. You will be facing a minimum of six months in jail and up to five years in prison. Virginia law places harsh penalties on domestic assault convictions.
As you can tell, a domestic assault allegation can alter the course of your life forever. It is important to have the correct Chesapeake, Virginia, domestic assault attorney fighting for you. At Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C., We understand what you are up against and have experience handling cases just like yours. Call 757-517-8956 or contact us online to discuss your case.