Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C. – Attorneys at Law

Chesapeake, Virginia DUI Attorney

Virginia law states that it is illegal for any person to operate a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. DUIs are taken very seriously in Virginia. It is important to note that a police officer does not need to prove that your blood-alcohol level is above the legal limit or that you have any drugs in your system. You can be arrested for simple suspicion of being under the influence. A surefire way to determine if someone is under the influence is to test their blood-alcohol level which is not always done and is not required.

This means, you can be facing severe consequences and may be completely innocent. If there are children of others in the car, you may also face other consequences like child neglect charges and mandatory jail time. Operating a commercial vehicle can also complicate things. Do not give up or throw in the towel: our Chesapeake, VA DUI attorney from Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C. is here to help.

DWI vs DUI

DWI and DUI are often used interchangeably but they are two different charges. DUI is driving under the influence while DWI is driving while intoxicated. They sound similar but they are not. Driving while intoxicated is when a person operating a vehicle has a blood alcohol level at or above .08%. Driving under the influence is when a person is driving after consuming alcohol. This is even if the blood alcohol level is below the legal limit. It simply means you are impaired while driving and that impairment is affecting your ability to drive.

DUI Defense

When you hire a Chesapeake, VA DUI attorney from Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C.we will work to build the most robust case possible to fight the DUI charge. We will:

  • Obtain evidence to build your defense
  • Conduct a complete investigation into your charges
  • Handle negotiations with the prosecution
  • Work to obtain later sentencing is conviction is imminent
  • Represent you at every court hearing

Going to court without the help of an experienced DUI defense attorney can lead to disaster. You will be facing law enforcement officials and seasoned prosecutors. Do not take this fight alone.

What Are The Penalties for DUI?

DUIs in Virginia carry various penalties like license suspensions, ignition interlocking systems, jail time, and fines. A first offense has a possibility of 12 months in jail while a third offense carries a mandatory 90-day jail sentence. A first offense for a DUI or DWI also includes fines of $250 to $2,500. A second offense carries a minimum of 10 days in jail and up to 12 months in prison with fines of $500 to $2500. The third offense also carries penalties from $1,000 to $2,500 and an indefinite license suspension.

Contact Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C.

These offenses also make it difficult to find employment or housing as many employers will not take a chance on someone with a criminal background. Contact the Chesapeake, VA DUI attorney from Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C. at 757-517-8956 or by filling out our online contact form today.

Review
X
What Our Clients are Saying
Chris Barham