Virginia Assault And Battery Attorney

Being charged with assault and battery in Virginia is serious, and a conviction could lead to serious penalties. Assault and battery offenses could lead to a misdemeanor or felony charge in Virginia, depending on the nature and severity of the alleged offense. At Randall Page, P.C., our skilled and experienced team is standing by to help when you need a Virginia criminal defense attorney by your side. We will conduct a complete investigation into the charges against you and help get them reduced or dismissed altogether. If you are facing these charges in the Courtland, Suffolk, Emporia, or Lawrenceville areas, contact us today.

Virginia assault and battery laws

We can find assault and battery laws covered in the Virginia code of laws, section 18.2-57. As we examine the language of this law, we find there are various sections associated with this law that each has varying penalties.

  • Basic assault and battery charge: A person who commits a simple assault or assault and battery could face a Class 1 misdemeanor offense punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.
  • Assault and battery based on religion or ethnicity: If a person commits assault and battery against a person and selected their victim specifically because of the person’s race, color, national origin, or religious conviction, the maximum penalty is one year in jail and a fine of $2,500. However, there is a six-month jail term requirement upon conviction for this offense. If the victim of this offense suffers from a bodily injury, the defendant will face a Class six felony, punishable by up to five years in prison.
  • Assault and battery of a police officer or other government worker: If an assault and battery are committed against a law enforcement official or other government officials, a person could face a Class 6 felony punishable by up to five years in prison. There is also a minimum sentence of six months for this offense.
  • Assault and battery of a teacher: Virginia law gives special protection to teachers, and any person who commits assault and battery of a teacher or other education official could face a sentence between 15 days and one year in jail.
  • Assault and battery of a health care worker: Just like teachers, health care workers also have special protections under the law. A person convicted of assault and battery against a health care worker could face 15 days to one year in jail. This law applies to health care workers operating in their official capacity at the time the incident occurs.
  • Assault and battery of a family member: This offense is commonly referred to as domestic assault and battery. In many ways, this charge is handled like other assault and battery cases, though there or some additional punishments that could apply.

Contact our Virginia assault and battery attorney today

If you or somebody you love is facing assault and battery charges in or around the Courtland, Suffolk, Emporia, or Lawrenceville areas of Virginia, contact the team at Randall Page, P.C. for help today. We pledge to conduct a complete investigation into the charges against you so we can formulate a solid defense on your behalf. We will work with prosecutors in an effort to get the charges reduced or dismissed so you can get back to living your life. When you need a Virginia assault and battery defense attorney, you can contact us for a free consultation of your case by clicking here or by calling 757-517-8956.

Virginia Assault And Battery Attorney Legal Team

Review
X
What Our Clients are Saying
Sikendrick McCollum (Portsmouth)