In Virginia, domestic assault and battery are classified as a class 1 misdemeanor. An individual can face a Virginia domestic assault charge if he or she intentionally harms or attempts to harm another person. If this individual is convicted of a domestic assault claim, he or she can receive jail time and a fine.
There is no need to accept a domestic assault allegation in Virginia. Those who believe a domestic assault charge is unwarranted must do their part to defend against it. To do so, they should hire an experienced Virginia domestic assault attorney.
At Randall Page, P.C., we have Virginia domestic assault attorneys who help clients in any way they can. Our lawyers have many years of domestic assault case experience. They apply their domestic assault law knowledge and insights to assist our clients. That way, our attorneys can help you win your domestic assault case.
There is no guarantee you can successfully contest a Virginia domestic assault claim on your own. You must be able to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the claim is untrue. And, despite your best efforts, an alleged domestic assault victim may present a strong case against you. In this scenario, you must be able to dispute their case — or can face legal consequences.
When you work with an expert domestic assault lawyer in Virginia, you can get the help you need to contest any claims against you. Your lawyer will review all of the details surrounding your case. From here, your attorney can provide tips, recommendations, and guidance to help you build and execute a winning legal strategy.
The best Virginia domestic assault attorney understands there is no one-size-fits-all approach to defend against allegations. So, the lawyer works diligently to learn as much as possible about their client. The attorney is unafraid to ask tough questions, so he or she can gain comprehensive insights into a domestic assault case. Plus, the attorney gathers a wide range of evidence to help their client defend against a domestic assault allegation.
Ultimately, it pays to work with a Virginia domestic assault attorney who understands their client’s needs. This attorney delivers personalized support throughout domestic assault legal proceedings. If their client has concerns or questions along the way, the lawyer can respond to them, too.
A judge or magistrate hears both sides of a Virginia domestic assault case. If someone is found guilty of domestic assault for the first time, he or she can be sentenced to up to 12 months in jail and get a $2,500 fine. Comparatively, if someone is cleared of a domestic assault charge, he or she can move forward with their life.
Partnering with a top-notch Virginia domestic assault attorney can help you alleviate any worries surrounding legal proceedings in the Commonwealth. This attorney can explain how the legal process works in Virginia. In addition, the lawyer can provide assistance at all stages of your domestic assault case.