Virginia Possession Attorney

Possession of a Controlled Substance

§ 18.2-250. POSSESSION OF CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES UNLAWFUL.
It is unlawful for any person knowingly or intentionally to possess a controlled substance unless the substance was obtained directly from, or pursuant to, a valid prescription or order of a practitioner while acting in the course of his professional practice, or except as otherwise authorized by the Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.).

MARIJUANA POSSESSION

§ 18.2-250.1 Possession of marijuana unlawful.

Simple Possession of Marijuana is a class 1 misdemeanor subject to a maximum of 1 year in jail and a $2,500 fine.

SCHEDULE I OR II

Any person who violates this with respect to any controlled substance classified in Schedule I or II of the Drug Control Act shall be guilty of a Class 5 felony

SCHEDULE III

Any person other than an inmate of a penal institution as defined in § 53.1-1 or in the custody of an employee thereof, who violates this section with respect to a controlled substance classified in Schedule III shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.

SCHEDULE IV

Violation of this section with respect to a controlled substance classified in Schedule IV shall be punishable as a Class 2 misdemeanor.

SCHEDULE V

Violation of this section with respect to a controlled substance classified in Schedule V shall be punishable as a Class 3 misdemeanor.

SCHEDULE VI

Violation of this section with respect to a controlled substance classified in Schedule VI shall be punishable as a Class 4 misdemeanor.

Source: LIS Virginia Law

Virginia Possession Attorney Legal Team

Review
X
What Our Clients are Saying
Heather Casey (York County)