Virginia DUI Attorney

Even if it is your first, a DUI charge carries very high consequences and can seriously impact your life, both immediately and in the future. A first-time DUI is a criminal charge, a class 1 misdemeanor, which carries a maximum penalty of $2,500 fine and 12 months in jail. A DUI conviction also includes other consequences such as:

  • Suspension of your driver’s license for the minimum of one year.
  • Installation of an ignition interlock (breathalyzer) in your car WHEN you are allowed to drive again.
  • Monetary fines.
  • Significant increase in car insurance rates or being dropped by your insurance.
  • Mandatory attendance at substance abuse programs.
  • Loss of employment due to an alcohol related charge.
  • Loss of security clearance.

High Blood Alcohol Content

If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is higher. A higher BAC can carry mandatory jail time, meaning you MUST serve that time in jail if convicted.

  • .15 or above (5 days mandatory jail)
  • Above .20 (10 days mandatory jail)

Subsequent DUI Charges

If you have had a DUI conviction in the last 10 years, you are facing increased penalties to include:

2nd Offense DUI

  • $500.00 mandatory minimum fine, max fine is $2,500.00
  • 3 Year License Suspension
  • 20 Days mandatory minimum jail time, plus, additional time if your blood alcohol content is high
  • Not eligible to drive for ANY reason for at least 4 months

3rd DUI IS A FELONY WHICH MEANS IF CONVICTED YOU WILL BE A CONVICTED FELON

  • Loss of Constitutional Rights
  • $1,000.00 MINIMUM fine
  • 90 days mandatory minimum if within 10 years/6 months mandatory minimum if within 5 years.
  • Loss of license for AT LEAST 5 years
  • Not eligible for a restricted license for at least 3 years

Felony DUI after being convicted of a Felony DUI

  • Continuing Loss of Constitutional Rights
  • $50.00 trauma fund fine
  • $1,000.00 MINIMUM fine
  • 1-year mandatory minimum (there is no time frame, your felony DUI can be 20 years old and you still receive this charge.)
  • License will be revoked; you will have to petition the court after 5 years to get your license back.
  • Not eligible for a restricted license.

Ignition Interlock

An ignition interlock system is a device which MUST be installed in every car you own and/or drive after the conviction for DUI for you to be allowed to drive again. The device is a breathalyzer attached to your car’s ignition. You must blow into the device to start your car and also at random intervals while driving (a “rolling retest”). If it registers a BAC of more than .02 you will not be able to drive the vehicle. And you will be in violation of your good behavior and could face another jailable charge.

VASAP (Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program)

Anyone convicted of a first or second DUI must participate in VASAP. This involves a series of programs focused on substance abuse treatment and education. Any programs prescribed by the local CASAP office must be completed in a timely manner or you can face additional consequences from the court such as additional license suspension and jail time.

It is clear you need an experienced DUI lawyer when charged with any level of DUI. Our years of experience, knowledge of the law, police procedures, prosecutor’s method of prosecution and ability to evaluate and fight your case make us an idea to handle your DUI charge and work to limit of reducing the consequences you face. CALL US NOW. RESULTS YOU WANT, EXPERIENCE YOU NEED.

Review
X
What Our Clients are Saying
Matt V.