In Virginia, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or other drugs. This can be done even without a blood alcohol content (BAC) sample. DUI’s are serious cases. A first offense carries the possibility of 12 months of jail time, and a third DUI is a felony with a mandatory six months jail. It also leads to license suspensions, ignition interlock, and other costly and time-consuming classes the court will require you to complete before fully restoring your privilege to drive. Our DUI attorneys can assist you in determining the best possible defenses available should you find yourself charged with DWI.
§ 18.2-266. Driving motor vehicle, engine, etc., while intoxicated, etc.
It shall be unlawful for any person to drive or operate any motor vehicle, engine or train (i) while such person has a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or more by weight by volume or 0.08 grams or more per 210 liters of breath as indicated by a chemical test administered as provided in this article, (ii) while such person is under the influence of alcohol, (iii) while such person is under the influence of any narcotic drug or any other self-administered intoxicant or drug of whatsoever nature, or any combination of such drugs, to a degree which impairs his ability to drive or operate any motor vehicle, engine or train safely, (iv) while such person is under the combined influence of alcohol and any drug or drugs to a degree which impairs his ability to drive or operate any motor vehicle, engine or train safely, or (v) while such person has a blood concentration of any of the following substances at a level that is equal to or greater than: (a) 0.02 milligrams of cocaine per liter of blood, (b) 0.1 milligrams of methamphetamine per liter of blood, (c) 0.01 milligrams of phencyclidine per liter of blood, or (d) 0.1 milligrams of 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine per liter of blood. A charge alleging a violation of this section shall support a conviction under clauses (i), (ii), (iii), (iv), or (v).
Trying to tackle a DUI charge without the assistance of a skilled defense attorney could be disastrous. The Commonwealth of Virginia takes DUI charges very seriously, and you need to understand that you will be going up against seasoned prosecutors and law enforcement officials. However, a skilled Virginia DUI defense attorney will have the resources and legal expertise necessary to:
If you or somebody you care about has been charged with DUI in the Commonwealth of Virginia, contact the team at Randall Page, P.C. as soon as possible. Our attorneys pledge to conduct a complete investigation into your case. Our goal is to get the charges against you reduced or dismissed so that you can go back to living your life. We understand the seriousness of DUI charges, and we will stand by your side. When you need a Virginia DUI defense attorney, you can contact us for a free consultation of your case by clicking here or by calling 757-517-8956.
I'm so glad I was in the position to hire an attorney and I'm so grateful for Attorneys Randal and Page and their staff. I was kept updated every step of the way. even though I live 500 miles way from the district of my hearing I wasnt out of the loop for a second.…