Virginia Insurance Consequences of DUI

If you or a loved one has been charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you probably have many questions. Your first phone call should be to a skilled DUI attorney who can help you get through the initial arrest process as well as the proceeding case. At Randall Page, P.C., our Virginia DUI attorneys want to discuss the insurance consequences of these cases. How will your insurance rates be affected, and will you be required to obtain SR-22 and FR-44/FR-46 insurance? Our team is here to help anyone who is facing a DUI charge in the Southampton and Greensville County areas.

The penalties for DUI in Virginia go beyond what you may think

Most people understand that they face serious legal consequences if they are arrested and convicted of driving while under the influence of alcohol in Virginia. Even a first-time offender can face up to 12 months in jail as well as significant fines for a DUI conviction. They can also face additional penalties, including a license suspension and a requirement to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in their vehicle for an extended period of time.

However, many people do not think about the insurance consequences of getting a DUI. Namely, the Commonwealth of Virginia requires those convicted of a DUI to obtain a certification of financial responsibility from their insurance carrier. This certification is referred to as SR-22 and FR-44/FR-44, which is a term that many people are familiar with. In fact, people regularly just call this SR-22 insurance. Under these requirements, drivers convicted of DUI must obtain the following minimum liability insurance limits from their insurance carrier:

  • Bodily injury/death of one person $50,000
  • Bodily injury/death of two or more persons $100,000
  • Property damage $40,000

Estimates show that SR-22 and FR-44/FR-46 insurance can raise a person’s insurance premiums by as much as 70% each year for the entire period of coverage.

Why are these insurance requirements necessary?

This type of insurance is going to be necessary in order for The Commonwealth of Virginia to “trust” a person to drive again after a DUI conviction. To put it simply, those convicted of DUI are seen as higher risks on the roadway. Regardless of the reason why somebody is required to have SR-22 and FR-44/FR-46 insurance (there are other reasons besides DUI convictions), they must carry this coverage for a minimum of three years.

Our Virginia DUI lawyers are here to help

If you or somebody you love has been charged with DUI in or around the Courtland or Emporia areas, please seek legal assistance as soon as possible. At Randall Page, P.C., we pledge to thoroughly investigate the charges against you. Our goal is to get your DUI charge reduced or dismissed altogether after we gather the evidence. We have a thorough understanding of the courts in the Southampton and Greensville County areas and have developed relationships with the judges and prosecutors here. The consequences of these cases are too severe for you to try to handle the situation on your own. When you need a Virginia DUI attorney, you can contact us for a free consultation of your case by clicking here or by calling 757-517-8956.

Virginia Insurance Consequences of DUI Legal Team

Review
X
What Our Clients are Saying

Kirk McBride