Virginia Jail and Penalties for DUI

The last thing that most people anticipate is that they will be arrested and charged with driving under the influence. However, if you or a loved one are facing a DUI charge, the first phone call you need to make should be to a skilled and experienced attorney. At Randall Page, P.C., our Virginia DUI attorneys want to discuss the possible penalties for a DUI conviction in Virginia. Residents and visitors to the Greensville and Southampton areas have an advocate ready to help, so let us get to work on your case today.

What are the penalties for DUI in Virginia?

The truth is that driving under the influence (DUI), commonly referred to as driving while intoxicated (DWI), is illegal. Those who are arrested and convicted of these crimes face significant penalties, including jail time, fines, requirements to take classes, high insurance premiums, and more.

The legally allowable blood alcohol concentration (BAC) in Virginia is .08%. Any person found to be driving at this at .08% BAC or higher can be arrested for DUI. Virginia law also has a zero-tolerance policy regarding underage drivers. If a driver under the age of 21 has a BAC of .02%, they can be arrested and charged with DUI.

The penalties for DUI in Virginia include the following:

First offense

  • Up to 12 months in jail (usually no time for first-offense)
  • Fine ranging from $250 to $2,500
  • License suspension of one year
  • Ignition interlock device (IID) for a minimum of six months

Second offense

  • Minimum 10 days but up to 12 months in jail
  • Fines ranging from $500 to $2,500
  • License suspension for three years
  • Ignition interlock device (IID) for a minimum of six months

Third offense

  • Minimum 90 days but up to 5 years in jail
  • Fines ranging from $1,000 to $2,500
  • Indefinitely license suspension
  • Ignition interlock device (IID) for a minimum of six months

Virginia operates under an “implied consent” law that requires all drivers who have been lawfully arrested for DUI to submit to a breath and/or blood test to determine intoxication levels. If a motorist refuses to submit to a test, they risk losing their license for up to one year (first offense) or as much as three years (all subsequent offenses).

In addition to the statutory penalties mentioned above, drivers who have been convicted of DUI that do regain their license and the ability to drive will have to purchase additional insurance to gain an SR-22 certification from their insurer. This will significantly increase insurance premiums and is often a tremendous financial burden for those who have been convicted of DUI.

Whether you have been arrested and charged with DUI on a local roadway or been charged by state police who heavily patrol I-95 and I-58, we are ready to help you with your case.

Let our Virginia DUI attorneys help

If you or somebody you love has been charged with DUI in or around the Courtland or Emporia areas, please seek legal assistance as soon as possible. At Randall Page, P.C., we have extensive experience handling these cases. We pledge to thoroughly investigate the charges against you in an effort to get them reduced or dismissed altogether. Looking at the penalties above, you can see this is something you do not want to handle by yourself. When you need a Virginia DUI attorney, you can contact us for a free consultation of your case by clicking here or by calling 757-517-8956. Our team works diligently to help those facing DUI charges in the Southampton and Greensville County areas.

Virginia Jail and Penalties for DUI Legal Team

Review
X
What Our Clients are Saying
Victor (Hampton, VA)