Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C. – Attorneys at Law

Hampton, Virginia DUI Attorney

If you or somebody you care about has been arrested and charged with DUI in Hampton, Virginia, you need to seek legal assistance as soon as possible. At Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C., our team is standing by when you need a Hampton, VA, DUI attorney. We know that this is an incredibly busy area of the state, a place at the crossroads of Virginia Beach, Norfolk, and Newport News. Law enforcement officials simply do not play around in this area, which is why you need an attorney who will have your back to ensure you are treated fairly throughout the entire DUI process.

Why is an attorney necessary for a Hampton, Virginia, DUI charge?

A DUI attorney in Hampton, Virginia, is going to be an incredibly important part of this process for a person facing charges. The reality is that this is more serious than a typical traffic violation, and an attorney is going to be needed to help a person try to keep a criminal conviction off their record.

A DUI defense attorney will begin their investigation immediately, and this will include obtaining all evidence being used by prosecutors in the case. It is crucial to ensure that this evidence was obtained legally by police officers and that the police followed proper procedures when conducting blood alcohol content tests. Additionally, it is crucial to ensure that any BAC measuring devices were properly calibrated at the time of the arrest.

An attorney will work with prosecutors to help get the charges reduced or even dismissed, depending on how the case proceeds forward.

What are the penalties for DUI convictions in Hampton, VA?

When we look at the law pertaining to DUI in the Commonwealth of Virginia, we can see that an individual can face a range of penalties for a DUI charge (§ 18.2-266. Driving motor vehicle, engine, etc., while intoxicated, etc.).

First, even a first-time offender could face up to 12 months in jail if they are convicted. However, first-time offenders rarely face any jail time unless their blood alcohol content is incredibly high (.15 % and above).

In addition to possible jail time, some other penalties can include the following:

  • Ignition interlock device (IID) installed in a vehicle for six months
  • The requirement to take the Virginia Alcohol Safety Training Program (VASAP)
  • Possible license suspension or restricted license
  • Fines ranging from $250 to $2,500

Any person who has been convicted of a second or third DUI within five years from the date of their first arrest will face increased penalties.

Contact a Hampton, Virginia DUI attorney today

If you or a loved one have been charged with DUI in or around Hampton, Virginia, the time to call for help is right now. At Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C., our dedicated attorneys can get involved in your case almost immediately so we can begin formulating a solid defense on your behalf. We will fully investigate the charges against you and do everything we can to get them reduced or dismissed altogether. When you need a Hampton, Virginia, DUI attorney, you can contact us for a free consultation of your case by clicking here or by calling 757-517-8956.

Review
X
What Our Clients are Saying
Chantisy Knatt