Virginia Uninsured Motorist Defense Attorney

Most people understand that they need to have auto insurance if they want to operate their vehicles on the roadways of Virginia. However, failing to properly insure a vehicle in the Commonwealth can result in a driver facing significant penalties. At Randall Page, P.C., we are standing by to help when you need an uninsured motorist defense attorney. If you have been cited for operating a vehicle without proper insurance, let us get to work on your case. Our goal is to investigate every aspect of the situation so we can work to get the charges reduced or dismissed. Let us stand by your side so you can focus on moving forward with your life.

Insurance requirements for Virginia motorists

Each state is responsible for setting a minimum amount of insurance that every driver must carry to remain legal on the roadway. In Virginia, it is illegal to operate a vehicle without at least the minimum amount of liability required by law, which includes the following:

  • Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage: $20,000 per accident
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
  • Uninsured Motorist Property Damage: $20,000 per accident ($200 deductible for hit-and-run accidents)

Penalties for failing to carry the required auto insurance in Virginia

Drivers who are charged with not carrying proper insurance in Virginia, whether in the aftermath of an accident or as a result of a routine traffic stop, could face a range of penalties. This includes the following:

  • License and vehicle registration suspension
  • A maximum fine of $500
  • The requirement to obtain SR-22 paperwork from the insurer (higher premiums for the violator)

At first glance, these penalties may not seem like a big deal. However, the financial costs of driving without insurance can add up quickly. In addition to the fine imposed by law, SR-22 requirements often result in a person paying hundreds more in insurance premiums each year.

Additionally, if a person is involved in a vehicle accident and they do not have the proper insurance as required by law, they will be held personally liable for any injury or damage expenses they cause to another party. A driver operating without insurance will also be responsible for covering their own medical costs and property damage caused by the accident. If you get into an accident without insurance in Virginia, you will be cited, and all of the penalties for driving without insurance will apply in your case, regardless of which party caused the accident.

Call our attorneys for a free consultation of your case today

If you or somebody you love has been charged with operating a vehicle without insurance in Virginia, contact a personal injury attorney for assistance with your case today. At Randall Page, P.C., we have extensive experience defending clients against a range of traffic citations, including operating a vehicle without insurance. Our team will investigate every aspect of your case in an effort to get the charges reduced or dismissed so you can focus on moving forward. When you need a Virginia uninsured motorist defense attorney, you can contact us for a free consultation of your case by clicking here or by calling 757-517-8956.

Review
X
What Our Clients are Saying
Janice Smith (Portsmouth)