Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C. – Attorneys at Law

Southampton County, Virginia DUI Attorney

The last thing anybody expects when they are traveling through South Hampton County, Virginia, is that they will have to worry about a DUI charge. However, this is an area that has always seen an increased law enforcement presence. At Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C., our dedicated team is here to help if you need a Southampton County, VA, DUI attorney by your side. We have the resources necessary to help you through your entire case, and we know what it takes to stand up to aggressive law enforcement officials and prosecutors to ensure you are treated fairly.

Will your driver’s license be suspended following a DUI arrest in Southampton County, VA?

There are a few ways that a DUI arrest or conviction in Southampton County, VA, could result in a suspended driver’s license. First, every driver in the Commonwealth of Virginia gives implied consent to a blood or breath test if they are arrested under suspicion of DUI. Failing to submit to a blood or breath test will result in an automatic one-year license suspension, regardless of whether or not a person is eventually convicted of DUI.

Additionally, a DUI conviction for a first-time offender will result in a one-year license suspension. However, if a person is enrolled in or has completed the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP), they will be able to obtain a restricted license that allows them to drive to and from work, school, or medical visits during the term of their suspension.

What are the other penalties for DUI in Virginia?

When we look at the law pertaining to driving under the influence (§ 18.2-266) in Virginia, we can see that there are additional penalties aside from a suspended driver’s license. Any person convicted of DUI could face up to 12 months in jail for their first offense, though most first-time offenders do not serve jail time unless their BAC is .15% or higher.

In addition to possible jail time and a driver’s license suspension, a person convicted of DUI will have to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in their vehicle for six months and will have to pay a fine ranging from $250 to $2,500.

Any person charged with DUI in Southampton County, Virginia, needs to work with a skilled DUI lawyer who can fully investigate every aspect of their case. An attorney will analyze any evidence that has been gathered by law enforcement officials and ensure that it was obtained legally and properly. An attorney will work with prosecutors in an effort to get the charges reduced or dismissed, and they will also discuss possible plea deals if a conviction looks likely.

Reach out to a Southampton, Virginia DUI attorney today

If you or a loved one have been arrested and charged with DUI in Southampton County, Virginia, the time to call for help is now. At Randall, Page & Bruch, P.C., our attorneys will get involved in your case very quickly so we can ascertain exactly what happened, begin to formulate a defense on your behalf and stand up to aggressive prosecutors to ensure you are treated fairly. When you need a South Hampton County, Virginia, DUI attorney, you can contact us for a free consultation of your case by clicking here or by calling 757-517-8956.

Review
X
What Our Clients are Saying
Brooklyn Hudson